Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is the difference between the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre and the UNEVOC Centres?
    The UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre is the hub of the UNEVOC Network. Its mission is to assist UNESCO Member States, through the UNEVOC Centres, to strengthen and upgrade TVET systems and to promote the greater availability of skills development. The Network is composed of the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre and some 290 UNEVOC Centres. Read more
  • Who can become a UNEVOC Centre and how to become member of the Network?
    To become a member of the UNEVOC Network, the UNEVOC Centre must have a dedicated physical unit for housing a UNEVOC Secretariat/Office and adequate TVET staff and resources to carry out the UNEVOC activities. The UNEVOC Centre must conduct at least one local activity per year.
    The following institutions can become UNEVOC Centres:
    - a national Ministry dealing with TVET (Education, Training, Youth and Skills Development)
    - a national TVET body,
    - a university that runs TVET courses, a research institution or TVET teacher training institute, and
    - a training centre or school. Read more
  • How long does it take for an application to be approved and for the institution to become a UNEVOC Centre?
    Once a completed application form has been reviewed and approved by the International Centre and endorsed by the UNESCO National Commission, it takes less than two weeks for it to become a UNEVOC Centre and join the Network. If you would like to find out about the status of your application, please contact us at
  • What documents are required for the application?
    The applying institution is required to complete a nomination form (please request by filling in this form) after reading and understanding the requirements.
  • How can a UNEVOC Centre application progress be traced?
    To find out about the status of an application, please contact us at
  • What is the structure of the Network?
    The UNEVOC Network is a multilevel network. Each UNEVOC Centre is part of a cluster – a group of countries formed on geographical, linguistic or economic basis - and the cluster is part of a larger region. The Network is composed of five regions: Africa, Arab, Asia and the Pacific, Europe & North America, and Latin America & Caribbean.
  • Is there a UNEVOC Network membership fee?
    There is no such fee. It is up to member institutions to decide what resources they invest in terms of staff time and budget into their membership. Likewise, there is no charge for using services provided by the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre.
  • In which activities can a UNEVOC Centre participate or how can it contribute to the UNEVOC Network?
    The UNEVOC Centre can organize or participate in meetings, seminars, and workshops related to TVET and share related information on the Network Portal. The UNEVOC Centre can also contribute to publications and participate in the UNEVOC e-Forum. Read more
  • What is the difference between the UNEVOC Network and the UNEVOC e-Forum?
    The UNEVOC Network brings together all the UNEVOC Centres with the International Centre as its hub. The e-Forum is an online service provided by the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre. The e-Forum is an open platform for all TVET Stakeholders to share information and knowledge about different aspects of TVET. Read more
  • Who has access to the UNEVOC Network Portal?
    The Network portal is accessible to the public but sections of the portal are only accessible for Network members after logging in.
  • How can I find the nearest UNEVOC Centre in the country or region?
    The UNEVOC Network Portal offers a UNEVOC Network - Countries which allows one to easily search for a Centre by country.

page date 2014-06-24

Back to top